2014 UK Diversity Legal Awards – Winners announced

The BSN 2014 UK Diversity Legal Awards took place last night at a glittering black-tie event held at the five-star Grange Tower Bridge Hotel in London.

Over 200 hundred people attended the event, which was well supported by a cross-section of firms, chambers and legal industry bodies, including the Law Society of England and Wales and the Solicitors Regulation Authority (SRA).

A key aim of the UK Diversity Legal Awards is to recognise and promote excellence and good practice in the areas of equality, diversity and inclusion, across the legal profession. They are the only legal industry awards that have such a dedicated focus.

The evening was opened by Cordella Bart-Stewart, Executive Director of the Black Solicitors Network(BSN) followed by an introduction to the UK Diversity Legal Awards from Paulette Mastin, Chair of the BSN City Group.

The audience listened to illuminating talks from the two guests of honour, Jonathan Smithers, Vice-President of the Law Society and the Rt Hon Lord Justice David Bean. The awards themselves were presented by the hugely respected TV and radio journalist Zeinab Badawi. The main event concluded with an inspirational address from the winner of the BSN Lifetime Achievement Award, Margaret Casely-Hayford, Chair of Action Aid UK (formerly, Director of Legal Services for the John Lewis Partnership).

Cordella Bart-Stewart said in her opening address, “We are here today to publicly acknowledge those who are showing a commitment to diversity and inclusion.”

And that is exactly what took place.


Category: Recruitment “Attracting Talent”

WINNER: Reed Smith

Category: Retention “Talent Management”

WINNER: Matrix Chambers

Category: International Firm

WINNER: Fasken Martineau

Category: UK City 10 Firm

WINNER: Norton Rose Fulbright

Category: Firm of the Year

WINNER: Matthew Arnold & Baldwin

Category: Chambers of the Year

WINNER: Matrix Chambers

Category: BSN Rising Star

WINNER: Jaya Handa (Trainee, Pinsent Masons LLP)

Category: Diversity Champion

WINNER: Tunde Okewale (Barrister, Doughty Street Chambers)

Category: BSN Lifetime Achievement Award

WINNER: Margaret Casely-Hayford


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CAPTCHA ImageChange Image