Winners of the Law Society Excellence Awards 2014

The most extraordinary and dedicated members of our legal profession have been recognised at the 2014 Law Society Excellence Awards.

BBC journalist Mishal Husain hosted last night’s ceremony at the Park Plaza Hotel, Westminster Bridge, which set the scene for the most prestigious awards in the legal calendar, with over 600 people in attendance.

The Awards reward outstanding achievement in areas such as pro bono, marketing and communications, diversity, client service and business. There were ten winners in the group categories and six winners in the individual categories. There were 24 highly commended awards in total.

Law Society president Andrew Caplen said:

“Last night was a celebration of the remarkable work of individual solicitors as well as the successes and innovations of practices and firms, both large and small. It was a triumph.

“Rarely do you get such a breadth of talent under one roof and it is heartening to see the continuous good work that makes our profession what it is. I am glad the Law Society, through the Excellence Awards, is able to formally recognise this good work, which usually takes place quietly, out of the spotlight and as a result of many long hours.

“I congratulate each winner, highly commended and shortlisted entrant. It was a tough call for the judging panel, who had to pick winners from a really exceptional bunch of people.”

Excellence Awards winners 2014

Team awards

Excellence in Pro Bono

DLA Piper

Excellence in Client Service

Browne Jacobson LLP

Legal Sector Alliance Award for Excellence in Environmental Responsibility

Slaughter and May

Excellence in Marketing & Communications

Emsleys Solicitors

CQS Award for Excellence in Conveyancing Practice

Ramsdens Solicitors LLP

Lexcel Award for Excellence in Practice Management

Beeley & Co

Excellence in Diversity & Inclusion


Excellence in Learning & Development

Clifford Chance LLP

Excellence in International Legal Services

DIFC Courts

Excellence in Business Development & Innovation

DAC Beachcroft

Individual awards

The Law Society Gazette Legal Personality of the Year

Nicholas Crichton CBE, Family Drug and Alcohol Court (FDAC)

Junior Lawyer of the Year

Camilla Graham Wood, Birnberg Peirce & Partners

Solicitor Advocate of the Year

Adam Tear, Duncan Lewis Solicitors

Legal Business Woman of the Year

Karen Jackson, Roberts Jackson Solicitors

Solicitor of the Year – In-house

Diane Morrison, Hackney Community Law Centre

Solicitor of the Year – Private Practice

Cris McCurley, Ben Hoare Bell LLP

For a full list of winners and highly commended, please visit this website

Photos from the evening will be available later today on this website